DUI In Illinois: How A Good Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help
DUI in Bloomington, Illinois is serious business. You could lose your license, go to jail, or be fined thousands of dollars. If you’re charged with DUI in Bloomington, Illinois, you need to immediately contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.
In Illinois, DUI means driving under the influence. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is above .08%, you can be charged with DUI. In certain instances, you can still be charged with a DUI if your BAC is between .05 and .08. DUI doesn’t just cover drunk driving. It also includes drugs (regardless of whether they are over the counter, prescription, or illegal).
Severe Consequences of DUI in Bloomington, Illinois
The entire state of Illinois has an aggressive program to end DUI. Did you know that if you allow someone that you know is drunk to drive that you can be charged? Illinois is very, very serious about ending DUI. Another component of their campaign is to assess severe consequences against those who are charged and convicted of DUI. Here’s what you need to know:
- Your first DUI conviction can suspend your license for a minimum of one year. You could also go to jail for a year and be forced to pay up to $2,500.00.
- A second DUI conviction will result in a license suspension of at least five years if your second DUI happens within a 20-year time period of your first DUI. You will go to jail for at least five days or receive a sentence of 240 hours of community service. You could receive a one-year jail sentence. The fine is $2,500.00.
- A third DUI is considered a Class 2 Felony. You will lose your license for at least ten years. You will go to jail for at least 18 months, but you could be in jail for seven years. You could be fined up to $25,000.00.
- An aggravated DUI charge means that there was a wreck that resulted in severe bodily harm or permanent disfigurement to the victim(s). It is a Class 4 Felony. You will lose your license for at least one year. You will either go to jail for ten days or be sentenced to 480 hours of customer service. You could receive a jail sentence up to 12 years. The fine can be as high as $25,000.00.
Providing alcohol to minors can cause you to go to jail for a year and result in a fine up to $2,500.00. If you’re under 21 and you’re pulled over for DUI, the consequences are actually more severe.
Get Legal Help
If you’re pulled over and arrested for DUI, you need the help of an experienced DUI attorney in the Bloomington, Illinois area. They can explain your options and defend you in the court system. Many criminal defense attorneys offer affordable payment options for DUI cases. Don’t rely on your own interpretation of the law or something you read online. Contact a criminal defense attorney.